top of page

AFRICAN PRIZE 2022/2023: Paul Mba Abessole Winner

The former president of the Rally of the Gabonese People (RPG), Paul Mba Abessole is the 2022 winner of the African Prize for the Promotion of Democracy, for “his exceptional career in Gabonese politics”.

Paul Mba Ebassolé is the new winner of the African Prize for the Promotion of Democracy. Were on the shot list of nominees: Mr. Volker Perthes, Special Representative of the Secretary General of the United Nations for Sudan Mr. Mahamadou Issoufou, President of the Republic of Niger from 2011 to 2021 and Mr. John Agyekum Kufuor, President of the Republic of Ghana from 2001 to 2009 Paul Mba Ebassolé an emblematic figure of Gabonese politics. His political career remains marked by his leading role as an opponent of the late president Omar Bongo in the 1990s. The award ceremony will take place on October 7, 2023 in Libreville, Gabon. This event will therefore mark an exceptional opportunity for the entire African continent to pay vibrant tribute to an emblematic figure of African politics who has greatly contributed to the promotion of democracy in Africa.

Sercom Pasoci



bottom of page